Recovery Time! – Day 1

I hate when technology doesn’t work how you want it. I was all prepared to write things out on the WordPress app on my phone. But it had other plans.. 😦 Fortunately, I was able to journal other places and now consolidating all of it.

The last update was that the surgery was boring (YAY!). I had been stressing over the extubation process. Our wants for Logan included not being on bi-pap long term. I can’t express my fear that the worse would happen to us. However, with our amazing team of doctors and nurses, Logan was extubated with no problems! He did not have to go on a bi-pap at all, just on supplemental oxygen.

We were moved to the pediatric ICU (PICU). We had a reverse isolation in place. Essentially everyone who came in had to wear a protective gown, mask, and gloves. This was to protect Logan from any sickness they might have been carrying on them. The first 30 min were rough, but he had a dose of Tylenol and morphine. After the morphine set in, he smiled for a few minutes. We then turned him on his side and he fell fast asleep. He slept for a good 2 hours. When he woke up, around 2pm, he started acting hungry and trying to eat his fingers. We were able to distract him with Little Einsteins and Bearnstein Bears.

After 3:30pm, Logan took another nap. Brett took watch while I took a nap in the chair. I literally shut my eyes and crashed for two hours. When I woke up, I found out Logan had been awake for a bit and the surgeon stopped by to check on him. They lowered his oxygen to 6 liters and flow to 50%. The pain started back up around 6ish. We gave him another round of morphine and turned him on his left side. He almost immediately fell asleep.

The rest of the 14th was rather quiet. Our nurses were super awesome. Brett would bring me food and we would trade places in the room while I ate in the parents lounge. Valentine’s Day ended with a sigh of relief.

Leave a Reply

