Week in review

Wow what a week it has been! We have had our ups and downs. We started the week off with Daylight Savings time. Oh my goodness how I hate Daylight Savings time. Sunday evening we had one of the worst scares ever with Logan. We were giving him a bath and he started coughing. We deep suctioned him and he seemed to be good. Then he started coughing again. I rushed to get him out of his bath tub and into his towel while Brett got the cough assist ready. He started gasping for air while coughing, his skin turned splotchy, and he blued around his lips.

We hooked him up to his pulse ox. When first on it, he was at 64 oxygen level. After the first round of his cough assist (35lbs/inhale 1sec/exhale 1sec/pause 2sec) and suction, he came up to 75. After the second round he came up to mid 80’s. He hovered there for three more rounds. He was upset over everything so after he was for sure clear, I scooped him up with his pulse ox and we watched two episodes of Little Einsteins. After the opening song, his oxygen came up to lower 90’s and by the end of the first episode his oxygen was in the mid 90’s and his breathing was steady. As much as I hate those damn machines and how upset Logan gets over his cough assist, I truly believe we would have lost our baby boy if we hadn’t of had them on hand. It was by far the scariest thing I have been through. I’d rather not encounter that again

The first part of the week was quiet thank goodness. Thursday was my birthday πŸ˜€ I cannot even begin to explain my happiness that I was able to wake up to my baby boy. I didn’t add celebrating my birthday to his bucket list until late January because I was afraid it wouldn’t happen. But I had to have hope, so I put it down. We had a wonderful day chilling at home. Brett and Lucas surprised me with pink balloons and a chocolate cake with pink icing plus cashew chicken for dinner! ❀ ❀ ❀ I am very loved πŸ™‚

Friday was super fun! We were not about to stay inside. It was a beautiful, sunny 75 degree day! We went to the zoo, with what seemed like the rest of Springfield haha. We weren’t able to feed the giraffes or fish, but we were able to see the zebras up close. If we just walked along the paths, we didn’t run into that many people so we felt fairly safe to have Logan out.

After we left the zoo, we went to a furniture store to look at a couch we have looked at for over a year. We don’t have one, but have our own chairs and a loveseat instead. Logan is getting so long I can’t sit on the loveseat while he lays there too. The piece we were looking at has a chaise. While sitting and deciding if this is something we really wanted to do, I had a vision of the last 48 hours we would have with Logan. It was just a glimpse, but I saw myself laying with him on this couch. We watched an episode of Little Einsteins and Brett sat of the other side of Logan stroking his head.

I then came back to reality and watched Logan intently while he slept in his stroller wondering if what I saw was truly the end and how much time we have left. It was very jarring, but compelled me once again to make the most of everyday. I need to make sure my boys (and husband) are happy and we are enjoying life as a family. I have had so many reminders of this in the past week from a dear friend losing her baby girl to SMA to this vision that life will change and no matter what I won’t be ready for it. However, each day is a gift within itself to go forth and make many beautiful memories to treasure in years to come.

Leave a Reply

