Early Mother’s Day

Sunday afternoon, I was informed by Brett that we were celebrating Mother’s Day and that he would be back in a bit. Lucas went with him to get some fresh air. I had no idea what they were up to or why we were celebrating early, but I just went with the flow.

When they came back, I was told to leave the room, they needed to borrow Logan. I obliged and went into our bedroom for a little breathing time. When I came back out, Brett cooked me a steak for dinner with homemade Red Lobster Cheddar Bay biscuits

Logan woke up for a bit and I asked if there was anything we needed to do while his eyes were open. Brett jumped up and said yes! He went and got two cards (I’m a huge card person lol). One from him and one from the boys. This what was done while I was out of the room:
 photo CameraZOOM-20130506113535586_zps80e2b7ed.jpg

By this time I am in tears because of how thoughtful everything is. Then Lucas comes over with a Pandora bag. Last Mother’s Day, I was given a charm bracelet and have gradually been collecting charms. Apparently the ladies at the Pandora store helped Brett with the new charms ❤

This is Logan’s side. The dino was for how I decorated his nursery and his “theme”. Of course green. The red heart was for my birthday to represent July. And the mom charm with angel wings was given to me yesterday ❤
 photo CameraZOOM-20130506200858217_zps0b243257.jpg

The Lucas side has a heart he picked out for me. A car for his “theme”. A suitcase that has Paris on it representing Brett’s first overseas trip where Lucas and I were alone for a week. The plane represents the second trip where we found out I was pregnant with Logan. Lucas wanted it on his side though 🙂
 photo CameraZOOM-20130506200935238_zpsedaa214c.jpg

As the night ended, and I was in tears thanking Brett, I asked why today. Why were we celebrating early? He told me, “I promised you would spend Mother’s Day with both of your boys.” ❤

By far the best “Mother’s Day” present was this though: I asked two friends to pray that I would see Logan’s smile one more time. He hasn’t smiled since last Monday. When his eyes are open, they seem to be blank. So around 2pm, Logan woke up for the first time Sunday. Something was different about his eyes. They were bright! I came closer to his face, was all smiles and he looked like he wanted to smile. So I got my camera out just in case…and he smiled!!!!

 photo CameraZOOM-20130505142233651_zps5cf36ec3.jpg

He went back to sleep after two episodes of Little Einsteins, but for a brief moment in time, my baby came back to me.

I am a week early, but I hope you ladies who are moms (whether pregnant with you first, mom of many, or you baby has wings) have a wonderful Mother’s Day. We all posses an inner strength. We are moms. We are beautiful and strong.

24 thoughts on “Early Mother’s Day

  1. This was beautiful Tia ♡ I think of Logan and your family every single day. Happy (early) mothers day. You are such an amazing Mom and an inspiration.

    Like

  2. Tears again:-) Thank you for taking the time out of your precious moments to share your story with us. You and your family are such an inspiration to me as a first time mom. Happy Mothers day to you, your an amazing mommy!! I will continue to pray for happy moments for you and your family:-)

    Like

  3. This brought a tear to my eye. It filled me with happiness after ive had a bad day. Those charms are beautiful and im happy you got to spend a special mothers day with your boys! Even if it was a week early 🙂

    Like

  4. Happy early Mother’s Day, Tia. So glad you got your wish and spent your day with your boys. And, of course, thanks for sharing Logan’s smile

    Like

  5. Every time I read your blog, I get so choked up and want to reply, but I can never seem to find the words that could truly convey the feeling within me. You really have a beautiful way of writing, and I think a book can be made from all of your postings.

    What Brett did for you this past weekend speaks volumes of the magnitude of love your family shares. For Lucas to be exposed to all of this thoughtfulness and compassion that encompasses each day in your household, there is no doubt that his heart will be as big as yours. You really are such an inspiration, and although you are dealing with a dilemma that no mother should be forced to face, I truly hope that you receive a bit of comfort knowing that you have attracted such a fond fan base, and that so many people have fallen in love with Logan, as well as the rest of your family. The majority of babies that are born bring such happiness to the family and close friends, but very few become world renowned and loved. Logan has captured the heart of thousands, and I pray that you realize what an impact he has had in so many ways to the lives of so many people. I’m so happy that you were able to capture another smile from him.

    I’m sure you will treasure that bracelet forever. I know that it will not only represent the facets of the kids’ lives, but will also always represent the love that your husband feels for you.

    God Bless you Tia, and may He always keep you in His arms. Happy Mother’s Day to you!

    Like

  6. I am so happy that you had such a wonderful mothers day even if it was a week early and you got to spend the day with both of your boys. I loved your story even though it had me in tears as I read it. You are such a great mom. I loved Logan’s smile. My prayers remain with you all.
    HAPPY MOTHERS DAY
    Keitha

    Like

  7. You are doing such a good job taking care of Logan. That smile says it all. Lucas is learning so much about love, compassion and family from you and your husband. Live each moment.

    Like

  8. I am so glad you got to spend an early Mothers Day with your family. It is so special that Logan woke and spent a little time with you. Happy Mothers Day early and please kiss Logan and Lucas for me.

    Like

  9. Tia – I found your blog through BBC right as you began to write it. I just want to say that you are truly inspirational and a beautiful model of motherhood. Your boys are so lucky to have you! You are in my thoughts and prayers daily.

    Like

  10. I’m so glad you got to celebrate Mother’s Day with both of your boys, even if it was a week early! What lovely memories. The card with the footprints really choked me up, that must be something you will cherish forever. Logan is lucky to have such awesome parents and a great big brother. My thoughts are with you all. (((hugs)))

    Like

  11. Happy Early Mothers Day Tia! After wiping away the tears from reading about your wonderful day with all your boys and their heart-full gifts I was overjoyed by all their love to you. You are a true inspiration to all mothers and one of a kind. God is always with you, Logan and your family. What a wonderful day you had. Happy Mothers Day Tia.

    Like

  12. Such a great husband&your babies are so precious.. Iam so happy you got a SMILE too.. Happy Mothers day to you too:) xoxo..

    Like

  13. Add me to the Kleenex Brigade! Such a beautiful day, filled with wonderful memories. That card is perfect. And getting a smile!… Lots of love to you, Logan, and your family.

    Like

  14. A smile is worth a thousand words and I’m sure some of those words were “thanks mom and dad, I was born to the best parents in the world. They loved me and did all they possibly could” For you truly did. We lost our granddaughter to sma type 1 5 months ago. Our son and daughter in law live many miles/states away. Although we kept in touch, your day by day updates made us really realize what they went through. I cried nightly as I read your posts as I relived their time with our granddaughter. You are remarkable people, as are they, but you shared your most inner feelings online. May the fact that you shared, help you in days to come. Bless you and all parents of s.m.a. babies. May you all have a loving mothers day!!!

    Like

  15. July 2012 BBC mama…Thank you so much, as I’ve said before, for sharing Logan with us. Thank you for sharing this smile. With today’s news, I am full of tears as I realize this was probably the last smile you got to see, mama. I’m so, so glad for you that you got it on the camera. I posted on facebook today, also…I cannot thank you enough for all the inspiration to be a better mother. Logan’s story has touched my whole family. I will think of him every time I wear green.

    Like

Leave a Reply

