The post we never wanted to make…

At 4:10am, Logan passed peacefully in Mommy’s arms with Daddy holding his hand and his armed wrapped around both of us. Lucas was able to say goodbye shortly before he passed. He declined very quickly from 1am and after. Our hearts are heavy as there is a giant void in our life now. However, Logan is running free, somewhere beyond the moon. This flawed body on earth no longer restrains his beautiful spirit. He is free to sit up, crawl, walk, run and play to his heart’s content. We already miss our baby boy terribly, but we will go forward in life better than before because he came into our lives.

Logan touched more people in his 10 months than some do in an entire lifetime. We are so fortunate to be his parents.

Love to all of you as you go about your day. Give your spouse/child/family member/friend an extra hug and “I love you”. Thank you for your thoughts, prayers, love, and support during our journey. The journey won’t stop here though. Logan will never be forgotten and we will fight for a cure, that no child, no family, will ever have to feel the devastation of SMA again.

<3 Logan's Last Smile <3

❤ Logan’s Last Smile ❤

28 thoughts on “The post we never wanted to make…

  1. I am devastated for your family, Tia. I wish you peace and comfort in the coming days, as you deal with something no parent should ever have to deal with. You have shown more love, grace, and generosity to Logan in his short time here than some of us will ever experience. He is so lucky to have you as his mother.

    It is amazing how someone so young can touch so many people. And boy has Logan done this! Logan, SMA, and the need to find a cure will never be forgotten. My family loves him as if he were our own. Thank you for sharing his story with us. Peace to you all, and especially that bright, beautiful, smiley boy of yours. He is loved.

    “We love you Logan, to the moon and back”

    Like

  2. Ruth family I am sorry for your loss…may you rest in peace sweet Logan. Thank you for your precious smiles and to your family for sharing your story with us. We love you and you will be missed.

    Like

  3. I am so sorry for your loss. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. Rest in peace Logan and may your beautiful smile shine on.

    Like

  4. I am crying as I write you–my heart is so heavy for you. but I too rejoice with you that Logan is now set free, running free in the presence of our God who is pure love. May God’s love and grace be very tangible to you as we’ll, as you grieve the loss of your precious little boy!

    Like

  5. My tearful condolences for you and your family. From the beginning it was his beautiful smile that pulled me into his story. He really is the hero. All your family has shown such grace in this battle. I am just blown away by your courage. Thank you for sharing just a little of Logan with us.

    Like

  6. Oh sweet boy, your smile will be missed. Rest in peace little angel. I am so sorry for your loss. He was lucky to have you all, and y’all where lucky to have him. Thank you for sharing his story with us and for making him so comfortable, and loving him so much. I can tell you that he has a place in my heart and I will never forget about him ♥ you will see him again someday, and he will run to you with open arms.

    Like

  7. My heart jerked a bit when I read the title of your post. First off, I am so sorry you have to deal with the pain of saying good-bye to a sweet baby. I too, have walked that path. Dear Lord I just ask that you be with the Ruth family during the coming days/weeks. I thank you that sweet Daddy had Mother’s Day last Sunday for sweet Tia and I thank you beyond words that Logan gave his mommy such a beautiful gift in that last smile. May it always be in her heart. Surround them with people who love them and especially let others give attention to Lucas during this chaotic/hard time…he too is now missing his sweet brother..so hard for a little one to say good-bye to someone he loves so much. Amen.

    Love and hugs Tia, hubby (sorry can’t remember his name) and Lucas and the grandparents and the rest of the family. Ali

    Like

  8. I’m so sorry for your loss. Logan’s smiles always brought me such joy. I love that despite everything he was filled with so much happiness. It was (and will always be) a reminder to enjoy every minute. Thank you for sharing your story and letting us get to know your precious little boy and family.

    Like

  9. I cannot imagine what your family is going through .you are an amazing mommy and Logan was lucky to have you as a mommy . Logan is such an inspiration ti so many people and so are you Brett and Lucas . you all gave Logan a wonderful life and he knows how much he is loved .my thoughts are with your precious family . love from my family to yours

    Like

  10. Thank you for sharing his last smile. I have shed so many tears today for you and your family. I hope you find some peace.

    Like

  11. I’m so sorry for your loss. Thank you for sharing your precious Logan and his story. His smiles were such a joy and he really touched my heart. Logan was so lucky to have such a wonderful big brother and loving parents. You are all in my thoughts and prayers.

    Like

  12. I am so very sorry for your loss, Logan was such a sweet boy and his smile was one in a million. My heart is breaking for your family and I’m sending prayers for peace and even more strength than you already have and have had this whole time. Your little boy is an inspiration and has touched the lives and hearts of countless others. May God be with you and know that Logan always will be, smiling that beautiful smile of his.

    Like

  13. So heartbroken reading this post, can’t imagine what you and your family are going through Tia. Lots of hugs and prayers for your family. I second what Jess said, it’s amazing what you’ve done as a family, the strength you’ve shown. Logan was so loved, and so lucky to be part of your familiy. May God bring all of you peace.

    Like

  14. Tia, Brett and Lucas,
    My deepest sympathies for the loss of precious Logan. My heart aches for you all. may you find comfort in each other and in the love that surrounds you all from people all over the world. Logan touched the hearts and lives of so many. Tia, you yourself have inspired and uplifted each of us. Your strength, grace, and determination is unmatched. Thank you for sharing your little blessing with us. We will still be here to share your grief, your moments of anger, your times of joy in the weeks and months that follow. God bless.

    Levi, courtney, ashlyn and trevin

    Like

  15. I’m so sorry for your family’s loss. There’s a warmth in every picture of Logan that glows in the love you could see he felt. Your composure and grace throughout your situation is so admirable. I really hope that the upcoming weeks and months bring you continued peace, comfort, and many great memories.

    Like

  16. I only recently found your website and in an instant your family captured my heart.

    I am so truly sorry for your family.

    Your are in my thoughts and prayers.

    Like

  17. Logan, your smile and your spirit live on. What a little trooper! Tia, Brett, and Lucas, you inspire me. Logan had more love in a short period than some people will ever experience. You are amazing people. You are in my thoughts and prayers. I am so incredibly sorry for your loss.
    “It’s not the length of life, but the depth of life.” – RWE

    Like

  18. Brett and family,

    Myself and Connie are very sorry to hear this and we are praying for you and your family. Let us know if there is anything we can do.

    sincerely,

    Mike and Connie

    Like

  19. So so sorry for you loss, that sweet boy lived his entire life knowing nothing but unconditional love and that is such a beautiful thing. Hugs to your entire family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

