Rediscovering Ourselves

Two years ago, I had no idea in a few short hours our baby boy would leave this world and a “Logan shaped hole” would be left in his place. Life has been a crazy rollercoaster the past 2 years. However, I wanted to give an update on everything.

Lucas is now 8 and so incredibly intelligent, it’s scary. He absorbs information like a sponge and loves learning. We still have tough days where Logan is immensely missed more than normal, but that is to be expected. Death is such a difficult situation to understand as an adult, let alone a child who does not have full reign of their emotions. It really is incredible how resilient children are when they are placed in extremely tough situations.

Claudia is now 14 months. I know, I know…time flies!!! She is running around and being ornery as ever. She is completely opposite of Logan. I’m not kidding…we could not have created a more opposite child if we tried.  She is already trying to problem solve and has great motor skills for being so young. Her spunk and spirit have brought a lot of happiness and hope for tomorrow back to our lives.

There has been a lot of silence since Claudia was born, and I apologize for seemingly falling off the face of the earth. It was truly unintentional. I don’t think I realized how much effort it was going to take to readjust to our new circumstances.

The foundation is still up and running, however we have eliminated almost all events outside of informational events this year. Yes, this sadly includes the 5k/Walk, Run, Roll. Life has thrown me a few curve balls and I’m still learning to balance. With this, there is a lot of guilt. A lot of “should be able to” and “why can’t I” statements. It is very tough to scale back, but I know Logan would want me to make sure Lucas and Claudia are taken care of and thriving above any other tasks.

Our hope is to pick up the pace with Logan’s foundation next year, but I’m taking everything a day at a time. Currently, my two biggest hopes are (1) update the Facebook page/blog more often to keep everyone up to date on the latest breakthroughs in medicine and (2) to do another fundraiser to help raise more books the care packages. We have received so many great comments saying how much they appreciated them for their newly diagnosed little ones.

I almost forgot, today is Mother’s Day! We still celebrate Mother’s Day a week before like we did when Logan was here. But I hope all those reading this, Moms and Single Dad’s, had a wonderful Mother’s Day.

Wishing you all the best,

Tia
Photo bomb time 🙂

2015-04-25 15.56.462015-05-02 14.26.41 (1)2015-05-10 08.50.55 (1)2015-03-29 12.33.09 (1)

2 thoughts on “Rediscovering Ourselves

  1. So good to hear news of your family. I’ve thought of you often as I play scramble with friends. I respect and admire all you do with the foundation, but sincerely hope you also take time for yourself. Your children are beautiful, and you are a remarkable mother! Happy Mother’s Day!

    Like

  2. Beautiful said. Keeping you in my prayers always and you have such a beautiful family. Love you. Oh….Yes time is sure flying by.

    Like

Leave a Reply

